Much Love Over Nothing

I guess you don’t really realize how close you can be to someone until something bad reminds you of that. ‘A’ (my girlfriend) had a relatively minor basketball accident yesterday and that was pretty much all the reminder I needed.

It wasn’t anything life-threatening. We were at the basketball court, doing our usual Thursday pickup game before heading home. After three intense games, I’d had more than enough for the day. I got my gear together, and sat down on the bench to cool off, exulting in the endorphin-induced high. It was a pretty beautiful evening, the weather having been great these last few weeks.

After some standard small-talk and backslapping with friends, I decided it was time to make a move. Unfortunately, A wasn’t in the mood for that.

“One more game, N! Come on, don’t be a spoilsport”, she said

“I’m totally beat, A.”

“Fine, so sit on the bench. We’ll be done before you know it”

I sighed.

“Whatever you say”.

I sat down and watch her graceful, flowing maneuvers with the ball (she’s been a national level player, after all), wishing I could play as well as her. I’m not bad, but nowhere close to THAT level.

Ten minutes into the game, I jerked upright. A was down on the ground. Apparently, she’d mishandled a pass and the ball slammed into her outstretched pinkie finger. Nothing life-threatening, like I said, but the impact was enough to break the finger and get her on the concrete, moaning in pain.

I don’t think I’ve ever run OR driven that fast before. I helped one of her friends immobilize the finger with a pen, got her to the car and drove her to R&R Hospital from Hauz Khas in ten minutes flat, while she insisted it was nothing over and over.

The DMO got her some painkillers and ordered an X-Ray.

Verdict: broken finger. The fingers would have to be buddy taped for a few weeks, at least, but she’d be fine.

By the time we walked out of the hospital, it was late, and the stars were well out. It was only when we got back into the warm confines of the car that I really breathed for the first time in over sixty minutes.  She gave me a wry smile and I returned it, while I clamped down on the adrenaline crash. No big deal. Relax. She’s fine.

“Are you going to be okay?”, I asked her as we got out of the parking lot. “Do you need some –”

“You heard the Doctor, didn’t you?”

“Yeah, but — ”

“I’ll be fine, N! I’m not five, you know.”

“I know. I just care about you.”

“Which I appreciate. But I’m a big girl, Mr. Mother Hen. I can take care of myself.”

I smiled at the return to her usual impish sense of humor. It was the surest sign that the finger was getting better already. Or less painful, at any rate. That’s when a thought struck me.

“What’s your PG’s curfew time again?

“Ten PM”, she said with an expression of disgust.

I could relate to that. The “curfews” that Indian landlords place on tenants is one of the funnier things that I’ve come across in this country. Who would have thought that adults would be subjected to High School style curfews?

Still, ten would do.

“How would you like Chinese at Taipan?”

She looked at me and her eyes told me all I needed to know.

“Call up your roomie and tell her you’re going to be a bit late. Let’s make a night of it.”, I said, failing to suppress a huge, shit-eating grin.

“Awesome!”, came the reply, and the night was suddenly a-rollin’.

So yeah.

If feeling like the luckiest person on earth is a crime, arrest me.

10 thoughts on “Much Love Over Nothing

  1. Sorry to learn about the accident…hope A gets better soon 🙂
    Loved the last line and the love that seasoned the whole post to a flavor of my liking 😀
    Take care

    • Thanks, ME!
      She’ll be fine. I think, but she will certainly grumble at the partial loss of her typing ability and I’ll have to put up with it. Meh. :/

      In some ways, life itself is seasoned by love, don’t you think?

  2. Yeah, that can happen. I always take time out to appreciate what I have so I don’t require violent incidents to remind me of how good life is. After all, the next violent incident might just break everything – so why not appreciate what one has while one still has it no?

  3. hm…a feminist dude, kudos to you man. and lucky girl she is!! hope she gets well soon. but ok random but the overlay of your page, black over navy blue makes thing difficult to decipher. you might want to change the design slightly. yeah definitely, make it more appealing to the reader. they say never judge a book by its cover, sadly people still do that. 😀

    • Thanks for the feedback, AS. Going to change the theme soon as I have time.

      As of now, I consider myself the lucky one in the relationship. Of course, that status could be up for review in the future ( 😉 ), but at this point of time, I really couldn’t ask for more.

  4. A cynic is said to be a ‘disappointed romantic’ 🙂 I don’t see any disappointment in your posts and romance is well and flourishing 🙂 So what makes you a cynic? You don’t have to answer, am just being cheeky 🙂

    • Lol.

      I actually consider myself to be more of an efficient realist, so to speak, than a disappointed romantic. I am certainly a bit of an idealist but I’m realistic enough to understand that the utopia I dream of is just never going to happen. I am not disillusioned by life, because I don’t harbor that many illusions in the first place. And that, I suppose, makes me a cynic. 🙂

What do you think?

